Bravo's Back!

It has been almost three years in the making but talented left-handed batsman Darren Bravo has been recalled to the West Indies Test Squad for the England series that begins here in the Caribbean later this month.

Bravo last represented the regional team in the longest format in October 2016 against Pakistan in Sharjah. He had scores of 11 and three in that match which the West Indies won by five wickets.

Bravo infamously had a public spat with Cricket West Indies president Dave Cameron in January 2017 when the batsman did not accept a C-grade contract from the board. Cameron had sought to reason that this was because Bravo’s performances at the time did not warrant a better contract resulting Bravo to refer to the CWI head as a ‘big idiot’ in a post on his private Twitter account.

Cameron insisted that Bravo delete the tweet.

The issue between the two was reportedly resolved in July 2017 when CWI confirmed that batsman Bravo had become available with immediate effect to play in all forms of cricket. However, although Bravo has since made his return to the team in the two shorter formats of the game, he has not been named in a West Indies Test Match team until now.

Today the selectors announced the team for the first Test against England in Barbados from January 23-27, confirming the return of captain Jason Holder as well who missed the limited-overs leg of the recent tour of Bangladesh due to injury.

There are also two uncapped players in John Campbell the 26-year-old left-handed opening batsman and Shamarh Brooks the 30-year-old right-handed middle-order batsman.

Chairman of Selectors, Courtney Browne said: “Although a tough series against England is anticipated, home turf has always been a place where our team has made strides.”

Browne added: “With the return of Darren Bravo, who will add value to a batting department, we expect to see marked improvement. Young, exciting, fast bowler Alzarri Joseph, who was sidelined by injury, returns to the squad.”


Jason Holder (Captain)

Kraigg Brathwaite

Darren Bravo

Shamarh Brooks

John Campbell

Roston Chase

Shane Dowrich

Shannon Gabriel

Shimron Hetmyer

Shai Hope

Alzarri Joseph

Kemar Roach

Jomel Warrican

NOTE: Oshane Thomas has been called up as cover for Alzarri Joseph


Favourite count: 
Favourite count ids: